Jake’s Sunday Post “Vehicle.”


Jake’s Sunday Post theme, this week, is ‘Vehicle,’ so I decided to post a few pics of the more interesting vehicles I’ve seen and ridden in, on my travels.

“I left my heart in San Francisco,” a few years ago. What an interesting and fascinating city. We explored it mostly on foot, but of course you can’t visit this beautiful city without taking the opportunity¬† to leap onto one of these vintage trams. A really unique experience.

One day whilst driving on our way back to New York from Florida, via the scenic route, we stayed overnight in Chattanooga, Tennessee. I was tickled pink to actually see the famous ‘Chattanooga Choo Choo’ which was made famous by Glen Miller and his Big Swing Band in 1941.

Here at Copacabana, the main Bolivian town on the shore of Lake Titicaca, we were intrigued to see buses and taxis, bedecked with ribbons, lined up outside a church, and waiting to be blessed by the priest, for a fee of course. Wink

In Riobamba, Ecuador, the most popular ride is the idyllic trip called ‘Nariz Del Diablo’, (The Devil’s Nose.) It takes you through stunning natural areas in the Andes and is considered one of the best train rides in the world. Sitting on the roof of this freight train and absorbing the Andes must be very exciting if a little uncomfortable. I believe you can rent cushions. Hubby and I didn’t go on this train. It was crammed to the gills with exuberant youngsters, and their perches looked to be very precarious indeed.

We, being more mature and ‘dignified’, opted for the relative comfort of a specially adapted coach fitted with railway wheels. Here am I with our young guide and the driver, waiting for the exciting ride to begin. Some people did sit on the top, and for part of the journey, hubby was one of them. I was very relieved when he climbed back inside.

On our Italian tour last year, this cute little ‘train’ took us from the coach park to the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

My last photo was taken in the car park at JFK on a rainy evening. This vehicle has to be the last word in luxury taxis.

The stretch Hummer Limo, has comfortable seating for up to 18 passengers, a full bar and entertainment centre, two fish tanks, hardwood floors, six flat screen TV’s, CD Player, DVD Player, and Surround Sound. I wonder who it was picking up. I just knew it wasn’t waiting for us. Laughing

This morning, I go for my first eye operation. I’m feeling very positive, but you may wish me luck, anyway.

44 comments on “Jake’s Sunday Post “Vehicle.”

  1. Love that vintage tram. Do you know, we have been to Chattanooga I can’t tell you how many times and have yet to go see the Choo Choo?! I think I’d skip riding on top of either of those train cars, as well. You are certainly well traveled! One of my biggest dreams is to travel the world. I’ve been all over the USA, although not every state quite yet, but most. Only been out of the country once, in Mexico (Cozumel, Progresso and Merida). All great shots! I feel I’ve been on vacation while reading your fine post. ;)

    • So good to see you here, Carol. We also love traveling around the USA. It’s a wonderful country with so much to see. We still have many places left to visit there. ;)

  2. You make my 4×4 seem very tame, AD! Is there anywhere you haven’t been?!! Thanks for sharing all these lovely memories, such a good post. Hope the eye op went brilliantly. HUGE HUGS xxxx

    • Hehehe. Well, we haven’t been to quite a number of places. I would still like to travel to Russia one day, when we find the time. My eye op went fantastically well, and I get the other one done next Tuesday.;) xxx

  3. Love your San Francisco pictures, reminds me when I lived there a couple of years ago in my college days :) Hey good luck with your eye operation. I’m sure you’ll be fine but thought I’d send you good vibes anyway. :)

    Incidentally I realized that I have been visiting your post all the time and didn’t know why you hadn’t appeared on my Reader Tab. I thought something was seriously wrong with Word Press for a while, then I realized I hadn’t pressed the follow button. What nerd :)

  4. Oh, I would leave my heart there for sure too hon. Great shots. :)
    Thinking of you re the op and know that all will be well. :)
    *big hugs*

  5. Wow, I wouldn’t like to try and top this collection! Some interesting vehicles, indeed.
    I think the Hummer is definitely over-the-top, though. The fish tanks strike me as rather silly ostentation.

  6. Pingback: Sunday Post: Vehicle | heartfelt images

  7. Most exiting thing I’ve ever driven in was a taxy in Egypt – actually, more scary than exiting!!
    But the tuk-tuk in Thailand was also a cool ride ;-)
    Maybe, one day, I’ll get to climb on one of those trams!

I love to read your comments.

