Travel theme: Foliage


Ailsa’s theme this week is foliage. It’s Spring here in South Africa, so here are a few photos to show you what’s happening in this part of the world.

The first two were taken in my daughter’s garden  in Johannesburg, when we visited her a few weeks ago. The lemon tree was bearing its first fruit.

The Begonias were very perky indeed.

On Sunday in my sister’s garden, the Hibiscus were doing their thing, somewhere amongst all the the foliage.

The Staghorn fern was quite spectacular,

and King Palm was looking all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

In fact, everything in the garden was absolutely  lovely. :)

Miss Callistemon was showing off her new red dress, when we took mom back to her cottage,

and her Cycad seemed to have grown a foot since last week; obviously trying to catch up with the “Emerald Goddess” behind it.

To see more bloggers’ contributions to Ailsa’s theme, just click here.

80 comments on “Travel theme: Foliage

  1. Beautiful colors and texture of the foliage. I planted a Staghorn fern about 20 years ago at my mom’s garden . I placed it on a mango tree. now it us huge with little staghorns around it.

  2. So many of the trees are similar to the ones here in Florida. It’s very interesting to know that. I have a staghorn fern a friend had given me several years ago. It’s a live but doesn’t grow much. I find it to be a fascinating plant.
    Lovely entries for the theme ….
    Toodles,
    Izzy

    • Thanks so much, Izzy. We have a very similar climate to your in Florida. I think my sister’s Staghorn is quite exceptional, and she doesn’t do anything to it. It just does its own thing. :)
      Sylvia

  3. Lovely gallery – variation! My favourite is Callistemon. Wonderful colour and flowers delicious when they are on their way out from the buds. I snatched one twig from Nepal once and it grew into a small plant for half a year. Then on one of my travels someone overwatered it. I haven´t found a new one…Your photo makes me long for one again!

  4. The foliage in my garden is looking quite divine – everything lush and green ;-)
    Wish my Staghorn fern looked as nice as this one does though!!

  5. I still can’t imagine leaving all that behind, but if summer there is anything like Florida’s summer, then I think I get the picture. How lovely to have the choice. Any plans to travel west while you’ll be on this continent?

I love to read your comments.

