Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth


This week’s challenge, asks us to share pictures that mean “growth” to us.

I have chosen firstly this one of a giant Banyan tree at the Turtle Creek Resort in Oahu. I was absolutely awestruck when we came upon it on our walk through the forest. It was the first time I’d seen a Banyan. It makes me look like a little dwarf, or maybe I should be more p.c., and say that I look vertically challenged? πŸ™‚ It’s hard to believe that this tree grew to such an enormous size from one tiny seed.

Just look at this cute baby rhino following along behind his mama at the Lion and Rhino Park in Johannesburg. It’s hard to believe that after a few growth spurts, this miniature will one day weigh as much as 1.5 tons.

So we’ve had a plant and an animal, and now I think I’ll give you different sort of growth miracle.

The Gaudi Cathedral in Barcelona, the brainchild of Antoni Gaudi, was started 1882. He was unfortunately killed by a tram in 1926, so this magnificent structure has taken 130 years to finish. It’s amazing to think that something so unique and magnificent grew out of one man’s ideas and artistic genius, and that, as with all buildings, it started with that first shovelful of soil. As you can see from my photos taken in 2004, it was still in the growth phase.

Thinking about it, everything does grow from seed. The Banyan tree, and the mighty rhino start out as tiny seeds. Magnificent architecture, as with all art, starts out as a seed of brilliance in the mind of the creator. That 14th century proverb which says, “Mighty oaks from little acorns grow,” is so very true.

 

 

 

 

 

78 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

  1. The Banyan Tree reminds me of the tree of life. Such an amazing work of nature. beautiful and grand images that celebrates the gift of growth. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Growth « Cheryl Andrews

  3. the tree looks good to me. maybe it will ensnare the horrible people who try to nick the rhino’s horn when (s)he’s bigger?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth « Jacqueline's Blog

  5. I love your choices for the challenge… That first one, the Banyan tree, is simply amazing and the rest are great too. The Gaudi Cathedral remains one of the wonders of the world… πŸ™‚
    Happy weekend!
    Eliz

  6. Hi AD, amazing that there must be nearly a hundred years between the construction of the two ends of Gaudi’s cathedral shown in your 2 pics πŸ˜‰

  7. I wonder when Antoni Gaud’s mother held the tiny acorn (him) in her arms for the first time, could she ever imaging the great oak that he would design for Barcelona?

  8. Wow, I haven’t ever seen a Banyan Tree. and it’s so huge. :))
    I love the architectural designs of those cathedrals in Barcelona. Medieval.
    Great post!

  9. Great choices for the theme (as usual)! You definitely have a knack. Thanks, too, for the Banyan tree. I had heard of them, but hadn’t ever seen one. Amazing stuff mother nature does.

  10. This is a good entry… defining growth in such pertinent ways .. I’m impressed in your thought process… wonderful… love the pictures too…. the Cathedral is very impressive… do you think they had detailed plans in those days? Amazing…

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment again. I wonder if they did. There’s been quite a lot of controversy over whether the finished structure is exactly what Gaudi intended. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.