Wonderful Machu Picchu for Jake’s theme


Jake’s Sunday Post challenge this week, is ‘Wonderful’, and he has shown us some of his own wonderful images.

I asked myself, “What is the most wonderful place I’ve ever visited?” and Machu Picchu immediately sprang to mind. I have it as my blog background, but just in case you never noticed, here it is again.

I’d heard and read about it, but nothing could have prepared me for actually seeing this most sacred place of the Incas, in real life. It has such a peace and quiet about it, that you just want to stand and breath it in, and an aura of mystique which I’ve never felt before, even when I visited the pyramids of Egypt.

I don’t think it’s possible to take a mediocre photo of this most photogenic of places,

even when hiding from the heat of the midday sun, under one of the thatched shelters there.

For more details and pics of my most wonderful trip ever, you can click here.

To see other bloggers’ interpretations of the theme, visit Jake’s wonderful Sunday post.

100 comments on “Wonderful Machu Picchu for Jake’s theme

    • Yes, the altitude did affect me when we first arrived in Peru, but I soon got over it. They gave me lots of Coca tea to drink, which seemed to help a lot. πŸ™‚

  1. This is a wonderful post for me on this day … Election Day from Ohio. This post fit well into my day this morning, after all, the television is already off and I have our local classical music station in the background, which currently playing the very pleasant Concertino by Johann Nepomuk Hummel.

    • Thanks, Frank. I haven’t switched on the TV at all today. We’ve been out choosing flooring for the alterations. Much more inspiring. Until what time does the voting go on?

      • Voting times (and laws) are state determined. Typically, news will not do state projections until voting is closed in that state. Good luck with the flooring!

  2. This may be one of the only places I will regret not seeing so thank you for showing me such magnificent photos, I will also go immerse myself in your other post

  3. Very majestic views,my friend! I bet it was an…ahem…awe-inspriing place to visit (you thought I was gunna say ‘awesome’,dinnit youse? :P)

    The DC

  4. I’ve always been intrigued by your background shot. It’s so wonderful to see the full image. What a thrill to have seen it in person. I have to thank you for showing me all the wonderful places you’ve been. I suspect I’ll never get to putting together a bucket list outside of this continent. Seems like there’s far too much to explore right here….. but I suspect it makes reading your blog all that much more fun! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Gunta. I’m glad you enjoy looking at my travel pics. You have so much beauty around you there where you live, that I’m sure you’ll never run out of inspiration for wonderful photos to show us. πŸ™‚

  5. I loved it too! I was there back in 2001 so my photos aren’t very good. I would love to go back again someday as it truly is a wonderful, mystical place!!!

  6. One of the tops on my bucket list and your photos are stunning. I do love your header photo in the hammock. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I will be spending some time at yours, given what I have seen so far. πŸ™‚

  7. I’ve always loved this on your blog….today I got to take the time and REALLY LOOK at it….just stunning….I wonder about each and every “apartment” and who lived there and what their day was like…just fascinating…Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. You know I would love to sit down and visit with you… you have been to such amazing places… this being one I would love to talk about… my studies of historical Egypt, the Mayans, the Zimbabwe ruins and of cause this place… as a Land Surveyor, their layout, geometrical forms and shapes have always interested me… you really have been blessed to have seen these places…

    • Yes, I have, bdt, and if you’ve studied these places, then you probably know far more about them than I do, but it would be nice to meet up one day. πŸ™‚

  9. I love it when a place captures our heart and we can’t ever let it leave us!! Machu Picchu is that for you, and maybe it will be for me someday, if I ever get there! For now my place is Cappadocia in Turkey. There truly are some wonderful places in this world!!

    • Yes it really is a wonderful world that we live in. It’s quite frustrating to know that we’ll never manage to visit all of the amazing places that are just begging to be seen. 😦

      • Yes, it is so frustrating! My list is way too long to ever have time or money to see in my lifetime. We’ll all just have to try to see what we can see and be happy with that…. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.