Word a Week: Clouds #2


One of my favourite songs is this one, and it seemed rather apt for Sue’s challenge.

Bows and flows of angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere
I’ve looked at clouds that way

But now they only block the sun
They rain and snow on everyone
So many things I would have done
But clouds got in my way

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
It’s cloud illusions I recall
I really don’t know clouds at allΒ  ~ Joni Mitchell

Here’s my second take on Sue’s ‘Word a Week’ Cloud challenge. Yesterday I got a bit sidetracked by the sweet little love birds, but today I’ve decided to give you some serious clouds. Just click on any photo to get a slide show.

I hope you enjoyed my cloud pics. To see more, just visit ‘A Word in Your Ear’, by clicking here.

80 comments on “Word a Week: Clouds #2

  1. Love that song…. always have. And I think the lyrics are pretty profound (as opposed to one of your other commentators) πŸ™‚ Love the cloud piccies.
    Been catching up with you Syl. Good to see all your pics and posts … even went back to your Phi phi island one. And your sister’s work is magnificent (in case I hadn’t told you before).
    Glad all is well in FLA!! Thanks for your reply – and good wishes – much appreciated. Hugs and stuff and btw, my non-resolution resolution for 2013 is to start blogging again… trying to get it right.. at least I’ve started :). xxx

    • Thanks for the catch-up, Dinx. Yes, I also think Joni’s song is truly wonderful. My sister is so thrilled because she’s just sold 25 of her paintings to only two people, twenty of them bought by a member of the Zulu Royal family. Have a really great year, and keep up the blogging. I missed you. πŸ˜• xxx

  2. You know, I’ve heard that song a thousand times and never thought about it. I started reading what I believed was a poem and felt it was rather a bad poem…then I got to the end.

    Oh dear! She’s not a great lyricist, is she? πŸ™‚

    • I love the words of that song, and it did very well for her. She’s won so many awards and accolades in her musical career, so she must be doing something right. πŸ™‚

  3. Really beautiful clouds in all your photo’s. I have always loved looking up at them… That is one lovely sad song – one of my favourites, AD.

  4. wow! love them all! hard to pick a favorite, but I especially like Sunset Beach, HI, the sunset in Italy, the rainbow. but all are just brilliant! thanks for sharing.

  5. Fluffy white … things up there, do you remember were that comes from ????
    Great shots again, but what to expect ???? I love to take photos of clouds when I fly … some of my clouds will come in my yearly photo book in March. Your backyard, my pick of this lovely bunch.

  6. Each time I picked a favorite, the next one turned out to be even better! Beautiful images and the quote, too. Joni Mitchell was always one of my favorites.

    • Thanks so much, Gunta. I think that quite often we don’t notice the clouds when we’re actually taking the pics, but they pop out at you when you see them on the screen. I’m sure this doesn’t apply to you, because you’re an expert sky photographer. πŸ™‚

      • You give me far too much credit. I get lots of surprises when I download them to the computer. Mostly pleasant ones. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.