A Whiter Shade of Pale for Ailsa’s theme.


After two colour challenges in quick succession, Ailsa’s pale theme is quite refreshing. I was immediately reminded of that 1967Β  ‘Procul Harum’ song. It was on their debut album, and I remember it very well. I’ve often wondered what the lyrics mean, as I sit playing it on my piano. Maybe it’s better that I don’t know. πŸ™‚ It’s interesting though, that since that song, the phrase “A whiter shade of pale” has been included in several dictionaries, and I’ve used it myself quite often.

Here are some very well known pale faces. I wonder how many of you can name all four? If you’re American, I’m sure you can.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a very pale Sulphur Bed at Yellowstone National Park, with the steam continually rising from it. The water which erupts from these geysers is extremely hot, about 95 degrees C, and there were warning signs everywhere telling visitors to stay on the boardwalks and designated trails, as there have been several deaths resulting from people falling into the hot springs. I was extra careful πŸ™‚

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the Temple complex at Karnak near Luxor in Egypt. The sun was so bright, reflecting off the dozens of statues and the flagstones between them.This is the largest ancient religious site in the world. What an amazing place.

IMG_0063

Another pale photo I have, is this one of Niagara Falls. I think I’d be feeling rather pale myself, if I had to be on that little boat down there.

IMG_0016

These White Lions are the palest of the lion species, and very beautiful. They are not albinos, but a genetic rarity unique to one endemic region on the globe: the Timbavati region in South Africa.

IMG_0662

This pale photo was taken at the Whistler Ski Resort in Canada. We went up there for the day when our daughter was living in Vancouver. It was so very cold. I don’t think skiing would be for me, but there were lots of people thoroughly enjoying themselves.

IMG_0014

This pale photo was taken in Xian, as we were walking through the outdoor restaurant area. It all looked steaming hot, but we couldn’t identify what was on offer, so we didn’t buy our meal here.

IMG_0173

Whilst I was searching for pale photos, I came across this one of hubby and I inside the top of the Statue of Liberty, and thought it would do nicely for the theme. The flash makes us look like two ghosts, and you don’t get paler than that. πŸ™‚

IMG_0071

I hope you enjoyed my pale pics. To see more interpretations of Ailsa’s theme, just click here.

77 comments on “A Whiter Shade of Pale for Ailsa’s theme.

  1. I knew the tune but not the name of the song. Even though born and raised here I have never been to Mt. Rushmore, or Niagra Falls and while I have seen the Statue of Liberty and even its rededication a couple of decades ago, I’ve never been to the top of ‘her.’ You manage to come half way round the world and see far more than I ever have.

    At least I know the names of the Mt. Rushmore foursome; left to right it’s George Washington (who refused to be named king — and how many since then would have done so?!), Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln.

    Skiing can be fun if clothed properly and there are noooo snowboarders around. Just the sound of one approaching — and the sound is distinctive — makes me want to jump onto the nearest tree branch, out of harms way.

    Good post!
    Connie

    • Thanks so much, Connie. Yes, I’ve really seen a lot of your country, and I love it. I’m sure that skiing is great fun if one has gotten used to it and has gained confidence when younger. My son is one of those pesky snowboarders. πŸ™‚ Those four Presidents were great men of integrity as I understand. Wish we had one of those here at the moment. πŸ˜•

  2. a trip around the world with you ad, the only one i have seen myself is Whistler … so i really enjoyed this post … especially the temple complex at Karnak πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Travel Theme: Pale | Four Deer Oak

  4. I love that Procul Harem song (and I can’t think of anything else they actually sang!) These are great pics for the challenge and I love the ‘ghostly’ look of you and hubby atop the Statue of Liberty πŸ˜€

    • I also can’t remember anything else they sang. A one hit wonder. πŸ™‚ Yes, that photo inside Lady Liberty is one I’ve almost trashed a few times. Don’t know why I kept giving it a reprieve. Maybe I knew this theme would come up at some stage. πŸ˜•

      • I know it’s not taken by you (obviously because you’re in the picture) because it’s certainly not up to your ‘standard’, but it’s definitely worth keeping πŸ˜€

  5. I am in awe of how you manage your photography library. I find that once my photos are in a date file I forget all about them. And here you are able to put together a beautiful presentation!!!

    • Thanks, Rebecca. I just have a few memory cards which I painstakingly go through for each challenge. I usually manage to come up with something. πŸ˜€

  6. That little boat is great fun. They go full steam at the falls until the water pushed back and doesn’t let them go any more, that’s when they turn around. It’s quite thrilling, Everyone gets raincoats to wear,

  7. What a lovely selection, Ad. Suspect you’d be feeling a bit green if you were on that particular boat, rather like the water!
    Karnak! Now you’ve got me green- with envy! I’d love to go.

  8. Fabulous pictures Sylvia. It’s a lovely song, A Whiter Shade of Pale, I’m not sure what it’s all about either. Always a pleasure to visit and see all these different places. Is there anywhere you haven’t been that you’d like to Sylvia? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Adrain. I’d love to visit Russia, and this summer we may even get down to Cornwall to see if it’s really as beautiful as your photos. πŸ™‚

  9. Cool pics AD πŸ˜‰
    I saw a joke on FB about Mount Rushmore. One dude commented that it was cool how nature did that! Somebody else commented that the first one was literally too stupid to insult πŸ˜‰
    Cracks me up every time!!

  10. Oh, I just love the photo’s you posted AD and pale or not, they are spectacular and you did great with the theme. Lovely post hon! *hugs*

  11. Once again, you outdid yourself, Sylvia, with your great variety of pale photos for the challenge. I love that phrase, “a whiter shade of pale.” I love the sulphur bed at Yellowstone, Niagara Falls and the South African lions. Luxor looks absolutely steamy in that sunlight. πŸ™‚

  12. http://youtu.be/CJIVz9nYx7I – I you my favorite version of the song you are thinking of with Annie Lennox. What a gallery again, wide spread … from all over the world. The hot springs are my favorite. Niagara Falls is a great photo too, is it taken from a helicopter … I did the same .. but I was that lucky that one of the tour boats was in the middle of it all.

    • No, not a helicopter. It was taken from the Skylon Tower. Thanks for the music link. I still prefer the original, because it brings back memories. πŸ™‚

      • Okay .. I was never up there … missed that adventure.
        I still think she does a better job .. memories or no memories. *laughing.

    • Thanks, Pussycat. Yes we mustn’t put ideas into our politicians’ heads. I’m sure they’d love to be up in lights on the side of Table Mountain. 😯 They wouldn’t be pale faces though. πŸ™‚

  13. Tremendous scenics Sylvia and all fit the theme very well!
    I’m wondering how so many people fall into those hot spring geysers?!
    Clumsy? Just not paying attention? Yikes!

    • Thanks, Phil. Yes, what a way to go. 😯 We did see a car which had gone off the road, and landed up half in and half out of one. Very careless indeed! πŸ™‚

  14. Brilliant and pale at the same time AD πŸ˜‰
    Lovely selection .. I failed miserably with the Presidents … recognised the temple at Karnak and agree it IS amazing to be dwarfed by some of those columns of statues …
    I think you were wise on the food front otherwise you may have ended up looking more ghostly than in your last pics πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Poppy. Glad you enjoyed, and don’t feel bad about not knowing the presidents’ names. I’m sure many people have no clue either. πŸ™‚

  15. I had to cheat on your Rushmore challenge. I got three but didn’t know Roosevelt. Oh well, not bad for a Brit I suppose. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.