Wordless Wednesday: Two little dickie birds


Two Peruvian speckled birds on their equally speckled perch. πŸ™‚ I would love to know what they are. Can anyone please enlighten me?

DSCF0547

Wordless-Wednesday-Button-150

 

74 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Two little dickie birds

  1. They are certainly very speckled and cute. Some people are so knowledgeable about birds, but sadly I’m not one of them even though my maiden name is Birdsong! πŸ™‚

  2. They certainly look like sparrowhawks – as for the rest, did you catch their accents?
    Anyway, when in doubt all sparrow types are LBJs (Little Brown Jobs) so these could be BBJs.

  3. I’m not a bird watcher nor do we have birds here that look like them. I read on one of the other comments that they are the American Sparrowhawk??? I think I’ll wikipedia that. It sounds like they might be endangered. Anyway, nice shot of them.

  4. Lovely capture! I spotted an Indian sparrowhawk in the mango tree outside my window and it looked quite similar! A little grayer and smaller, but the speckles are near identical! The parakeets that were living there all this while have been missing ever since πŸ™‚

  5. Oh I forget, the most recent comments go to the top here. So I’ll change the phrase in the *below* statement from “above comment” to ‘below comment’ πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks for your endorsement and confidence in your above comment Sylvia. πŸ™‚
    I can give you a 100% positive ID that they are indeed speckled birds. πŸ˜›
    But Sparrow hawk sounds good too. πŸ˜€

    • Hahaha. Well it’s nice to know that we’re in agreement, Phil. πŸ˜€ Thanks for your expert opinion. They will forever more be sparrowhawks in my book, until proved otherwise. πŸ˜›

  7. Looks like the mystery is solved before I arrived. Giving the location where they were shot might have helped. (Or did I miss something?)

Comments are closed.