Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above


“The Earth is Art. The photographer is only a witness. ” ~Yann Arthus-Bertrand

This week’s photo challenge, ‘From above’, had me especially remembering the thrill I had of flying in a helicopter over Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. It was my first time going up in one, and I hung back whilst the other passengers got on, not out of politeness, but because I realised that the last one on, got to sit at the front, next to the pilot. Method in my madness. πŸ™‚ I took several photos, but this one came out the best, and hubby, who was white water rafting at the time, was very complimentary.

DSCF2480 - Copy

Here is one taken at Niagara, looking down across the falls.

IMG_0015

This is an aerial view of the approach to Belize.

IMG_1511

Looking down over the Hong Kong skyscrapers, to Victoria Harbour.

IMG_0036

A view of the famous New Orleans Bourbon Street, from the balcony of The Four Points Sheraton Hotel, which is built on the site of the legendary French Opera House.

IMG_0051

Whilst in Palm Springs, we took a fifteen minute Aerial Tramway ride, and ascended 8516 feet up Chino Canyon.Β  The rotating cars allow for breathtaking views for up to fifty miles in all directions.

F1030007

Looking down at the Pacific Ocean from cliffs in San Diego.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Half way up the Rock of Gibraltar, looking down on the bay of Algeciras.

DSCF1962

The city of Granada viewed from the beautiful Alhambra Palace.

DSCF2304

You don’t get much higher than this; soaring above the clouds like an eagle, looking down at The Alps on our flight back from Venice.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you’ve enjoyed my “From Above” photos. To see more entries for the WordPress Photo Challenge, just click here.

104 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above

  1. I love the view of Victoria Falls! You had a great strategy for getting the optimal viewpoint! I can’t wait to see the view of Granada from the Alhambra… in only 1 month!!

  2. Wow tremendous collection AD you must have a good catalogue system to find these πŸ˜‰
    The mighty Niagra Falls really are fantastic …another of those good window seats then πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Poppy. No catalogue system; just a good memory and lots of patience. πŸ™‚ The Niagara pic was taken from the Skylon Tower.

  3. Love the photo of Victoria Falls. Such an impressive vantage point and it really captures the size and power of these falls. Lucky you for having gotten to have this experience.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge ~ From Above « Elisa Ruland

    • Yes,, but very slowly , not spinning round and round, thankfully. πŸ™‚ The floor of the 5.5 m diameter aerial tram-cars rotates constantly, making two complete revolutions throughout the duration of the journey so that the passengers can see in all directions without moving.

  5. Wow ! You really got a fantastic serie of photos from above here ! I was particularly fond of the photo of the Pasific Ocean and the one of the Rock of Gibraltar . // Maria

  6. super photos as usual ad, your shot of Vic Falls is stunning … i was there as a five year old … would love to go back πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above | Flickr Comments

  8. Ha, I agree, the Palm Springs Tram shot made me feel a bit dizzy! All of your photographs were so dramatic….all beautiful from above!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above (Paris 2) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Wow! That shot of the Victoria falls is a stunner Sylvia! Thanks for the tip about getting into the helicopter last πŸ™‚

  11. Great views from above … I don’t think I have any photo from above at all.
    I flew over Niagara Falls in helicopter, but those negative I can’t find .. or the photos, lost in transit. San Diego shot is my favorite of this great bunch.
    .

  12. That photo of Victoria is a total winner for this challenge. Love it. I’m a bit used to the Gib views! Nice compilation though. I’ve been a bit slack in my challenge photos, may or may not do this one but your post is inspiring.

  13. That Aerial Tramway ride photo is giving me a queasy feeling in my stomach, AD. And the Victoria Falls, marvelous! I really enjoyed seeing your part of the earth from above!

Comments are closed.