A walk in the Black Forest


I’m having a great time on the Rhine River cruise, and have been kept very busy from early morning until bedtime, with sight seeing, eating, entertainment and of course family times. My dear mom-in-law is quite the celebrity on board, and when she returned to her cabin after dinner on the second night, she found it decorated with a banner, balloons and a ‘birthday cake’ made out of towels. πŸ™‚

IMG_2687

Yesterday our ship docked in Breisach, and we went on a morning tour and were able to take a walk in the Black Forest. It was a lovely morning as we set out for our half hour mini-hike through the picturesque landscape.

One of the first things we saw was this old log-cutting machine. Quite a nifty contraption. I wonder how many men it took to lift the heavy logs into it.

DSCN3705

These mountain goats looked quite content and took no notice of us at all, as they nibbled away at the foliage growing out of the rocks.

DSCN3707

After a while, the trail became quite steep and the ground underfoot was very rocky, so we decided that my 100-year-old MiL, shouldn’t go any further. We left her sitting on a large boulder just under this viaduct, whilst the rest of us climbed up to the top.

DSCN3709

She was quite happy to wait here, and when we got back about twenty minutes later, said that she’d been listening to the birds, and had seen a train going over the top of the viaduct.

IMG_2708

Here are a few pics of what we saw on our way. Just click on any image to see the gallery.

To end off our visit, we watched a demonstration on how to make a Black Forest cake. It involved a huge chocolate sponge cake sliced into three layers, and sandwiched together with lots of delicious cherries, liberal quantities of Kirschwasser, cherry jam, and a whole bucket of whipped cream, all topped off with grated black chocolate. Yummy! I did pick up one of those recipe cards, and so did my MiL. I’m sure she’s going to try it when she gets back home. πŸ™‚

DSCN3769

I have so much more to tell you and show you, but now I have to get showered and dressed so that I can have breakfast before our trip into Strasbourg. I’m sorry I haven’t managed to get to all of your blogs lately. Thank you so much for your lovely comments and visits.

73 comments on “A walk in the Black Forest

  1. Wow you get around in lovely Germany, Black forest is so beautiful to walk, we used go often as children with our parents. I always loved the forest and streams.

  2. I am way behind in blog reading, to. Here it is after 1:00 a.m. so that I can just get to SOME of my favs. Your MIL is so beautiful, and looks younger than my mom did at 60, and moves better, too. We were in England right about the time she was 60, and it was a glorious trip. Your photos are spectacular, and it’s fun to travel vicariously through you! πŸ™‚

  3. Yummo!! That cakes looks so good, Sylvia!!!

    Your mother in law looks so happy. πŸ™‚ I love those mountain goats. Okay, have a great time. Hugs Paula xxxxx

  4. Thanks for sharing photos about Germany. My mother is from Heidelberg and so Germany has always been very dear to me and part of who I am. Looks like a great trip.

  5. Such a gorgeous place! And MiL should be treated as a celebrity – reaching her age is no mean feat!
    Enjoy the trip AD – we’ll still be here when you have more time πŸ˜‰

  6. Black Forest Gateau comes from the Black Forest? It seems so obvious now you’ve said it, but the connection had never crossed my mind! (I guess I was always too busy gobbling it down to stop and consider its origin. :-))

  7. What a beautiful way to spend an afternoon, walking in the Black Forest. How wonderful that you MIL was not only treated so well but that she was capable of joining you on your walk. How cool was that? A few years ago, I made it my quest to make a Black Forest cake. It took 3 tries before I got one that I would share with others. That was a lot of cake for one person to get through — and all for science. πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks for sharing your wonderful journey. I have always wondered what the Black Forest looks like – now I know – beautiful.

  9. What amazing experiences you’re having! Wonderful for you MIL!! Black forest cake I’ve had only one time…but it is now my favorite!! Yummy!

  10. So nice that the the crew decorated the bday gals room for her πŸ™‚
    Nice views of nature in the black forest.
    And – what a sweet treat at the end of the trip. Sounds delish!
    Keep livin’ it up…

  11. How wonderful that your MIL is being given special treatment onboard the boat, she deserves every bit of it. The Black Forest looks quite magical AD. Please post a photo of the boat you are on and some photos of the passing scenery.

    • Yes, she is quite the celebrity. Everyone wants to hug her. I think they believe here longevity and good health might rub of on them. I have posted a pic of the boat today. I’ll do some pics of the castles along the Rhine when I have the time. πŸ™‚

  12. I hope that I can live to be 100 and look like your MIL..what a lady! How can she do all that….

  13. I see MiL is still enjoying her birthday. She looks like such a sweetheart AD! πŸ˜€
    Great shots hon and so glad you are enjoying yourself. Have fun hon. *big hugs*

  14. Oh, a walk in the Black Forest simply HAD to include cake!
    Please tell me you were cruising down the river on Sunday afternoon?
    Fancy abandoning her in the forest like that! It is a wonder she didn’t come across seven little men …

  15. Now, that is delightful. Mom is something else! I love it. What a pretty dress and top she has on too. Quite the styling lady, I see. πŸ™‚ My best wishes to her for a great trip!

  16. Good Evening: And good job on the photography. Were the goats a different species from the domesticated version, domesticated goats gone feral, or someone’s pets out for a ramble? Vonn Scott Bair

    • Thanks, so much for your kind comment. I have no idea about the origin of the goats, as I don’t speak their language, so couldn’t ask them. πŸ˜€

  17. Kathleen is amazing. Not even hiking boots! So glad you are all having such a happy time. Xxx
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Comments are closed.