Travel Theme: Hidden


I see that Ailsa has already posted a new travel theme, and I haven’t done the last one yet. Here are my photos for the ‘Hidden’ theme..

The Bignor Roman Villa site in West Sussex, was discovered in 1811 by a farmer who was ploughing his field. The earliest buildings date back to 190 AD, and the mosaics which had been hidden for centuries, are really lovely. Here is an example.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Whilst excavating the mosaics, a couple of child skeletons were uncovered, which had obviously been buried in the foundations. Our guide told us that the Romans did not consider infants to be fully developed people, so when they died young they were not given a proper burial, but just interred wherever a spot could be found, which in this case was under the floor.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

My next two photos were taken just inside the gate of our housing complex in Florida. It’s always reassuring to see the Sheriff’s car parked there 24/7, and in all weathers too, even if he is hidden by the dark tinted windows. It must be unbearably hot sitting there all day in this heat, and I was feeling quite sorry for him.

IMG_3087

On closer inspection though, the hidden Sheriff was revealed, and turned out to be nothing but a faceless dummy wearing sunglasses. 😀  This really gives meaning to the cliché, “Being lulled into a false sense of security.”

IMG_3088

I hope you enjoyed my pics for this theme. To visit Ailsa’s blog, and to see her new theme, just click here.

65 comments on “Travel Theme: Hidden

  1. I cannot hold my laugh when I read about the dummy in the sheriff’s car. Seems that such practice is adopted everywhere. In my country, you can find police statues erected to guard some places that known to be places with high rated car accidents, especially in town-to-town highway.

    • Glad I made you smile, Chris. I think we need a lot of these dummy cops on our roads in South Africa, but they would probably get knocked down or stolen. 😕

  2. The saying, “Knowing where the skeletons are buried” takes on a whole new meaning with that mosaic. I know of a couple empty squad cars here, in the city. They’re on busy stretches of roadway and serve to slow down the speeders. No matter. Your shots are great replies to the challenge.

  3. Those mosaics gave me an idea for the room I want to do-over AD 😉
    Can quite see myself laying little tiles all over the floor – but the end result would be quite spectacular!
    Cool hidden pics as always 🙂

  4. Oh, that is beautiful mosaics for sure Sylvia. I wouldn’t mind finding that under my house too. 😀
    Sad about the children hey? Shame…

    Whahahahah! And here you were feeling sorry for a dummy. 😆
    Well, at least it deters anyone who thinks of doing something criminal. 😀
    Great shots and post hon and thanks for sharing. *big hugs*

  5. I’m not very unique. The mosaics are lovely, and the auto cop is … lulling. I’m almost ready to fall asleep, but I’m too horrified to think about how unsafe you are to fall asleep comfortably. 🙂 Be safe 🙂

  6. Maybe it was easier for the early Romans to deal with their loss by not considering their child to be a full fledged person. Anything to avoid the pain, I would imagine. That was interesting to read, and I liked your picture.

    And YES, I’m always thrilled to see police patrolling the area, until I wonder why they’re patrolling the area!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

    • Hahaha….Yes one does tend to wonder where the danger might lie. Hopefully the police car is just a deterrent. 🙂 Thanks for your thoughtful comment on the child skeleton.

  7. I love the mysterious mosaic face – my maternal grandfather was a mosaic artisan who worked on buildings in Durban, Mozambique, and all up the East coast of Africa in the 1940s and 1950s.

  8. I used to have a city policeman living next door to me. I sure liked the secure feeling of his patrol car parked next to me. Pity he upped and moved away. 😉

  9. I love ancient Roman mosaics and when I was in England last year I visited several sites… couldn’t make it to Bignor this time but it’s on my list.

  10. Always find it fascinating to hear about mosaics or treasure turning up in farmer’s fields AD. This is a superb example !
    Oh your dummy cop .. *giggle I expect he attracts a lot of attention 😉

  11. beautiful mosaic tile…I enjoy learning interesting facts from time past! lol…I’ve seen those dummy police cars in Florida many times…I guess it makes people think, right?

  12. How funny re the dummy. But I would be relieved. Why would your complex need guarding 24/7? My sister and her husband (who live in Fl) wander off without locking the front door 🙂

    • I think they just have too many cars, and have to find a use for them. There’s usually one outside the club house too, but I know that does have a real person in it, ‘cos he waves. 🙂

Comments are closed.