Relaxed Poses for Sue’s Challenge.


This week, Sue’s Word a Week Challenge is Pose, and she’s posted some wonderful pics from her trip to Africa.

Here are a few favourite subjects that have unwittingly posed for my camera.

The Lion with its huge mane and majestic appearance, has to be the indisputable King of Beasts.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The gorgeous Cheetah can run faster than any other land animal, and has the ability to accelerate from 0-100 km/h in just three seconds. This one was just relaxing at the side of the road as we stopped to admire her.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The exotic Toucan is famous for its brightly coloured bill. It always makes me smile to see nature’s proudest and most impressive schnoz which is about 30- 40% of its total body area. Aren’t you glad that your nose isn’t that huge? 🙂

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This beautiful Eagle Owl was a most inscrutable poser ever. Couldn’t get him to smile for the camera at all.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The birds are flocking down to spend the winter in Florida. Here you see the Wood Stork posing with his good friend Snowy.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The Great Egret is always stalking around in my back yard.

DSCN5077

I really think that animals and birds are such great subjects to photograph, because even if they don’t smile and haven’t done their hair and makeup, they always look perfect.

DSCN5032

To see more entries for Sue’s photo challenge, just click here.

 

 

 

 

172 comments on “Relaxed Poses for Sue’s Challenge.

  1. Lions have always been my favourite, AD. You can see he KNOWS he is the king of the beasts, but to me the tiger is a close second and only because his bearing isn’t as regal, lol!

  2. You are so right. Animals are adorable, and they don’t have to be perfect in any way to be perfect. What is wrong with us humans that we can’t see that in each other. Have a happy holiday, Sylvia. 🙂 Lots of love, Marsha 🙂

  3. I love your pictures. That owl is just fluffy enough for one to get a sense of how very soft they are, which lets them fly so silently

  4. Hi ! What a lovely serie of photos ! … I just love the big cats …
    I still haven´t got my computor, so i steel some computor time at my work … I do miss your blog but i hope to be back in the middle of Decemeber again … // Maria 🙂

  5. This is quite the crew to photograph. LOVE the lion and the cheetah. And how true is that about the water birds, not a hair out of place in all that splashing. 🙂

  6. Oh, my giddy aunt. That shot of the Eagle Owl. How on earth did you get that?
    And in broad daylight, too.
    We get owls visiting the Ark’s spot; in fact we had three up at Em’s house two nights ago, Mother and two babies. She was teaching them to hunt by the look of it, but too dark for a shot.

    • The owl was at a country fair in England. As you can see, he’s not free to fly away. I’ve never been lucky enough to see them in the wild. How lovely that you saw the mother and her two babies.

      • Ah…I did wonder about the blue cord. Now it all makes sense.
        The owls live across the road from Em’s house at a friends.
        Two years ago she saw them – the whole family- mum dad, and four babies washing themselves in a large bird bath they have!

        They visit our spot infrequently but it is a real treat.
        Last year two babies stopped for a breather in one of the Jacaranda’s outside the house. It brought traffic to a halt for a short while and Emily took some shots.This is one of the best photos she managed.

        http://attaleuntold.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/sunday-stills-birds/

  7. You got me roaring with excitement with the King Lion and awesome friends. Thank for sharing a fun adventure and for the well wishes and prayers for the Philippines. Yesterday , another tragedy of nature hit. This time it’s in Illinois. My thoughts and prayers to all victims of the tornados and their families.

  8. REally great captures, Adin. The owl’s snobbiness-look makes it even more beautiful.And the toucan, wow, I wish to see one. You should’ve grabbed it by it’s bill, and take it to me. 😀

  9. The king of the beasts is always SO good-lookimg! Love the owl – always so superior – and the toucan – what a joke (God definitely has a sense of humour)!

  10. I agree with your view on animal and bird photography. I am looking forward to snapping a few shots of some of your lovely Florida birds this winter.

  11. tutte immagini molto impressionanti…trovarsi faccia a faccia con certi tipi ( anche se erano in relax) credo che possa fare più spavento che la visione delle mia mummie ha ha ha!
    l’immagine che preferisco è quella del gufo, così sornione e buffo, io li adoro, ce ne sono qui vicino fra gli alberi che chiaccherano la notte con le civette e fra hu hu e cuccumio cuccumio uno spasso!
    spero ti sarai ben svegliata e lontana dagli incubi 🙂

    all very impressive pictures … be face to face with some types (although they were relaxing) I believe I can do more than scare the vision of my mummies ha ha ha!
    my favorite picture is the OWL, so sly and funny, I love them, there are nearby between the trees that talk the night away with the owls and hu hu and cuccumio cuccumio a hoot!
    I hope you well woke up and away from the nightmares

    • Thanks, Ventis. Yes, the owl’s face is just as you described. 🙂 No, I didn’t have any mummy nightmares, but I had to try hard to forget your images before I went to sleep. 😯

  12. Hi Sylvia,
    These are wonderful close up wildlife shots! Oh, I love that big maned fellow, and the two birds walking side by side remind me of my sister and me having a relaxing walk and chat around Green Lake.

  13. A fabulous post, Sylvia 😀 You have made me laugh and smile.. what would I give to be as majestic looking as the lion or fast as cheetah 😀

Comments are closed.