Monday Bird Blues for Ed’s challenge


This week’s Sunday Stills challenge, is ‘Blue’. He asks us to find something other that blue sea and blue sky, so I decided that the Great Blue Heron, the ‘King of the Pond’, would be quite a fitting subject. He’s almost always there when I look out, and has a few different guises, depending on his mood.

He can look sleek and very regal.

DSCN0278

Sometimes he’s all fluffed up and looking very intense as he eyes his prey.

DSCN5401

“Oh dear, I  just lost a feather; must be the stressful life I lead.”

DSCN5420

Here, he seems to have somehow mislaid his long neck, and looks very grumpy about it.

dscn1529

He can also look as pleased as punch when he’s just caught the ideal-sized piece of sushi.

dscn0170

Which of his looks do you like the most?

To see more blue posts, or to participate in Ed’s challenge,  just click here.

61 comments on “Monday Bird Blues for Ed’s challenge

  1. It’s not only his neck. He seems to have lost a leg in that one too. And I thought was terrible for losing things! 😉

    • Thanks, YC. Only about 3 metres for most of them. The one with the feather was taken from further away because the lake was in between us, and I wasn’t swimming across for a photo. 😀

    • Thanks, Heather. Yes, I think he enjoys all the attention. None of the neighbours pay any mind to him. They probably think I”m crazy, always out there snapping away. 🙂

  2. I just love these birds. I managed to capture a couple of nice shots of one on our recent trip to Lake Havasu. Love your photo with the feather flying 🙂

  3. I love to see Great Blue Herons as they are so elegant, so I will pick image number one as my favorite.

Comments are closed.