Weekend theme: Blue


My friend Viewfromtheside , wants something blue this weekend. Her request immediately brought that sad song into my head,

“Blue, blue, my world is blue, blue is my world now I’m without you.”

The words are a bit morbid, so I tried to think of a happy blue song, and the only one I could come up with was that old Irving Berlin song. “Blue skies smiling at me.”  I wonder why when we’re feeling down, we say, “I’m feeling blue?” I couldn’t find a definitive origin, even on Wiki. Surely blue is a happy and very popular colour, judging by the number of people we see wearing blue denim. It’s also the colour of the sea and the sky, when we’re having a perfect weather day.

There are so many different shades of blue to choose from, and the bluest place I’ve ever found myself in, is the Blue Grotto (Grotto Azzurra) on the coast of the island of Capri. Sunlight, passing through an underwater cavity and shining through the seawater, creates an intense blue reflection that illuminates the cavern.

Sea creatures live in a permanently blue world, even in the captivity of our local uShaka Sea World in Durban.

I love the blue tinge of this photo taken on the beautiful Greek Island of Mykonos, which is named in honor of Mykons, son of Anios the son of Apollo. The folk band, ‘Fleet Foxes’ sang, “And you will go to Mykonos, with a vision of a gentle coast.”  Our cruise ship only stopped on this gentle coast for only a few hours, but we really enjoyed our time in this magical place.

Closer to home, this morning, the sea and sky doesn’t look quite a blue as usual. I think we’re in for some rain this weekend.

I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, with not a hint of  ‘The Blues’. To see more takes on sidey’s blue theme, just click here.

76 comments on “Weekend theme: Blue

  1. Hi AD….What lovely shades of Blue! I love the grotto….that is awesome! And the Greek island Mykonos….the boats bobbing lightly in the water and the blue blue sky..gorgeous! The waves and the ship in your homeland are softly blue, serene and lovely. BLUE places I’ve never been but want to see! Great post!

  2. I like your deep blue AD 🙂 Mind you I was on Capri too, but it was in winter time and I did not go to Grotto, but still it brings back some lovely memories 🙂

  3. I’ve got Elvis’s “Blue Suede Shoes” stuck in my head now 🙂
    You got me doing some research and I found this: “The proximity of dark blue to black on the colour scale, and its historical grouping with dark colours, may have contributed to blue’s links to depression and to fear – to have the blues, or to feel blue” http://www.metaphorik.de/10/philip.htm

    • Yes, it was absolutely amazing to sail around in that grotto, even if it was only for a few minutes. Mykonos was such a pretty island, but then all the Greek isles are. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Della Anna. I’m happy that you will also follow the blue theme. Sidey is my blogger friend from my old blog site, and she’s been doing her weekend challenge for years. 🙂

  4. I am a love of anything blue with water. And all these images today are a delight to my eyes and heart. Gave me a sense of adventure, calmness, excitement all rolled into one. Thanks. Have a blessed weekend!

Comments are closed.