Frizz’s Tag ‘C’ challenge: Coconuts and Cocktails


Good morning everyone from San Pedro. I see that FrizzText has a challenge to post something beginning with the letter ‘C’, so here is my contribution.

Here in Belize, where I’m staying for a week’s vacation, there are many Coconut Palms. This tree has been called, “the most versatile tree in the world, as it has many uses. Apart from the edible parts, the rest can used for a multitude of purposes, some of which you can read about here.

DSCN1157

Last night at dinner, I had the most delicious appetiser; Coconut encrusted shrimp sticks in black bean sauce. They were so delicious, and I ate every morsel, apart from the small piece I gave to hubby to try. πŸ™‚

IMG_1613

I also had a very tasty cocktail called ‘Naked Iguana’, which is made up of coconut rum, Caribbean rum, pineapple juice and a dash of blue.

IMG_1611

I still have to do my Lamanai Mayan Temple post later today, but this morning hubby is going scuba diving, and I’m going out on the boat with them, just for the ride. Have a great day, everyone.

71 comments on “Frizz’s Tag ‘C’ challenge: Coconuts and Cocktails

  1. Shrimp??? they look like small palm trees to me – or mini lobsters. That drink look lethal. Only drink Rum in Mojitos … been quite drunk on Rum .. hundred years ago .. so I can’t stand the taste, but in Mojitos I don’t feel it … please, can I have an other Mojito!!!

  2. perfect choices for the C tag … but your next post about the boat ride is extraordinary … what an exciting trip you are having !!!

  3. Great pics for the challenge πŸ˜‰ I LOVE those coconut encrusted shrimp sticks – good grief, I’ve got to get me some of those! πŸ˜€

  4. I know you are having a GREAT time. Te coconut shrimp looks YUMMY. It is always a favorite of mine despite the deep frying. What the hay … it’s a vacation. The drink … mmmm …. do ya get naked afterward? if so, I may have to pass. I don’t want to encourage bad behaviour on my hubby’s part. hahahaha
    Love you vacation posts … you’re making me crave my vacation which is coming up in February. ~~~~ : – )

    • Hahaha….Izzy you are too funny, and you’re asking a pertinent, or should that be impertinent question here. πŸ˜€ Won’t be too long now until February. πŸ™‚

  5. I had raw coconut milk in Thailand – doubt that I could ever acquire that taste πŸ˜‰
    But coconut does give things a very distinctive taste when you cook with it.
    Food looks deelish AD πŸ˜‰

  6. Pingback: Comment Challenge 2013: A Running Update |

  7. Wow, those coconut-encrusted shrimp sticks in black bean sauce look fabulous!! I sure wish I could taste!! Sounds like a fun day ahead, Sylvia. Enjoy. πŸ™‚

  8. And they do look very strange, AD. I’m glad you enjoyed them. I’m also pleased that you’re not killing yoursef blogging your holiday away and that you are also taking time to enjoy your travels. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.