WPC: The Sea


“The Sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.”
~ Jacques Cousteau

In January we had to leave the USA for a few days in accordance with our visitors visa requirements, so we took a week’s vacation in San Pedro, a town on the southern part of the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize. As you will see from my pics of the sea and its lovely beach, it wasn’t such an imposition and gave me seven blissful days in paradise.

The first permanent settlers of San Pedro who arrived between 1848 and 1849, were farmers and fishermen. Here  is one of the original Mayan canoes carved from a single tree trunk.

DSCN1246

Fishing isn’t only done by  the fishermen. These brown Pelicans are to be seen everywhere.

DSCN1143

The fish here must have a really tough battle for survival.

DSCN0910

Sun, sea and sand is the recipe for a really relaxing holiday.

DSCN1159

Even when the sky isn’t so blue, at the seaside there is beauty all around.

DSCN1242

At times it was really breezy and the palm trees waved most enthusiastically. My hair did the same. 🙂

DSCN1176

It’s a veritable kite-surfer’s paradise.

DSCN1197

Being at the seaside, offers so many recreational possibilities.

DSCN1166

You can even dive down into it for a closer look.

DIGITAL CAMERA

At times the ocean can be rather treacherous,

DIGITAL CAMERA

but mostly, it’s calming influence has a wonderfully renewing effect on the soul.

DSCN1252

Is it any wonder that we love to spend our summer holidays close to the sea?

To see more interpretations of the WordPress Photo Challenge, just click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

90 comments on “WPC: The Sea

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: The Exquisite Corpse Project [2012] | NVTV FILMOVI ONLINE

  3. Good gracious! You nailed this challenge! Great tremendous job capturing all those expert photography. Excellent job.
    I’ve done snorkellig but I havent done scuba diving. I’m so afraid I won’t be able to follow istructions. Ahihihi… Plus I am far from a swimmer nor a diver, even in the pool. 😀 😦

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sea (at Galilee) | JaniceHeck

  5. Yep, this looks like your kind of beach and holiday. I wonder if you would find my beaches to your liking. I prefer cool and invigorating over hot and balmy.

  6. When I saw the challenge I knew it would be a good one. Your photos are proof that I was right. How cool was the shipwreck to see? That island is something very special.

  7. Pingback: Photo Project ’52 Bolivian Sundays’ [week 35, 'Sea']. Okay, no sea in Bolivia, but… | 3rdculturechildren

  8. beautiful, I loved seeing the shipwreck…so calming

    I’m inviting you to come link up with us for Travel Photo Mondays, a link up carnival that runs all week starting on Mondays, hope you can join.

  9. What a fabulous quote to sum up your beautiful series of photographs. Cousteau was such an inspiration!

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea Through My Heart | Molly Greye

    • Yes it was, Phil, and so many Pelicans waiting next to the beach for the fishermen to finish filleting the fish, so that they could grab the leftovers. 🙂

  11. Stunning gallery .. and the color of that ocean .. compare to mine. And even under the sea … as YellowCable said her above … I can almost feel the breeze. *smile Excellent entry.

  12. Now that looks like the best holiday ever AD. Great shots of the Pelicans hon. Thanks for sharing this beauty. 😀 *hugs*

  13. I have lived in the mountains, but it is the sea that beckons me the most. Add some palm trees and I’m in heaven. Great shots, Sylvia and the ship wreck is a bonus.

Comments are closed.