Funny and weird signs for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge


I have quite a collection of photos for Cee’s challenge, and some you may have seen a few of them before, as Ailsa had the same theme last year.

On our beach, there is a sand sculptor who plies his trade right opposite one of the two snazziest 5 star hotels in Umhlanga. There is always a message on his sculpture, and I think he does quite well out of the tourists. (The ‘Durban July’ is South Africa’s most famous horse race, and attracts race goers from all over Africa.)

IMG_0246

Along the promenade are many holiday apartments, this sign is prominent outside one of them.

img_03122

Up the road in the village is a hardware store, and I couldn’t resist snapping some of the signs for sale.

IMG_0482

img_04821

My trip to Belize in January, yielded many photo opportunities. There were funny signs everywhere.

DSCN0902

Some of them were rather scary,

IMG_1522

and even threatening.

IMG_1521

The bar in our hotel had some interesting cocktails, but I stuck to the Mojitos. I didn’t dare order that first one. 😯

DSCN0856

At breakfast I was inspired every day by the thoughts posted on the wall of the dining room, especially, “Live in a state of radical appreciation.”

dscn0877

This sign in the restroom at Belize airport, intrigued me somewhat.

IMG_1679

Here’s a rather encouraging sign I saw in a restaurant in England.

IMG_1029

I remember this, so don’t worry about cholesterol when I’m eating pizza at one of  my favourite local restaurants.

img_0940

Here’s a sign I and my granddaughters always find hard to resist.

IMG_1871

Coney Island in Brooklyn New York, has many so-called attractions. Would you be tempted to pay your money to see this show? I wasn’t even mildly curious.

f1080002

Now, this sign on hubby’s sister’s patio wall, sounds far more entertaining.

sany0368

Here is a T-shirt I wanted to buy for hubby, but he wasn’t keen.

da2a2274-837e-4184-a125-38b7405ce808

Only in Miami would you find yourself following a bus with this advertisement on the back. :).

9c90d5e9-c117-4fe3-bd7c-9a8d1ed1221e

I have quite a few more signs I could show you, but I’m off to hide myself from the aliens. 😯 I saw this message on a fridge magnet at a flea market in Florida. The stallholder told us that  she has it on her fridge door, just in case she feels like trying to diet. 🙂

f1d3258e-e936-4f75-a35e-98f333e40e7e

The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that it has never tried to contact us.” ~Bill Watterson

Have a great weekend, and if you’re a mom, have a very happy Mother’s Day.

Don’t forget to visit Cee’s blog to see other contributions to the challenge.

cees-fun-foto

92 comments on “Funny and weird signs for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge

  1. Pingback: Funny and weird signs for Cee's Fun Foto Challenge …

  2. Pingback: Funny and weird signs for Cee's Fun Foto Challenge …

  3. hahaha … hysterical. there are quite a few funny ones. I would be concerned to go to the one that had the sign where shoplifters would be mutilated … mmmm … I don’t know why anyone would shoplift but I hope they read that sign befoe they do. LOL

  4. Definitely a fun collection, Ad! Your lead photo reminded me that the sand sculptures at FIESA in the Algarve will be starting up soon. I always love them.
    Yeah, gimmee the darn discount! Got to be some advantages to ageing. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Signs | judy lesko

  6. LOL! Quite funny signs indeed AD. Love the last one. So glad I am not skinny anymore…hehehe

  7. Mojitos did sound the best option AD . You don’t miss much do you 😉
    Liked the sand sculpture right down to the fish scales ..

  8. This post make me happy and get me a laugh 🙂 . I could need visit at the wife day care center … I´m totally exhausted after all that has been the last 1½ month … // Maria

  9. You have a trained eye for brilliant signage – fun gallery – enjoyed very much. My favorite is the shoplifting. Brilliant …

  10. That ‘panty ripper’ cocktail wins top prize, followed closely by the hardware store signs! Thanks for the laughs Sylvia 😆

  11. What a great collection of signs, Sylvia! They’re all hilarious, especially the experienced drinking companion for “carrying on” and the wife day care center. I love “Live in a state of radical appreciation” and that W.C. Fields quote! 🙂

      • Oh, July 28? I hope you’ll have a wonderful birthday, just in case I’m traveling and I forget. 🙂 I for one can’t wait for that date; of course I can’t wait for my trip to Spain & Portugal either, a month earlier! 🙂

Comments are closed.