Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says


Well here we have yet another sign challenge. I’ve already done posts for both Ailsa and Cee for this theme, so I thought I may be running out of signs to show you, but it’s become obvious to me that I’m fascinated by signs, as I’ve found quite a number that I haven’t used before.

Whilst in California, on our way from Las Vegas to San Francisco, I was rather surprised to see this signpost to Johannesburg. At the time, my home was in Johannesburg South Africa, and I really thought I was much further away from home than 1 mile. 🙂 I have since looked up this place on the internet, and found that Johannesburg CA, was founded to support mining operations at nearby Randsburg, and that this town was named Johannesburg, by miners who had previously worked in the gold-producing region of South Africa. It has a population of only 172 people.

F1110018

Still in the USA, we found a pyramid and a Luxor sign in Las Vegas. Who needs to travel to Egypt?

F1110011

Also on the same trip, we found ourselves at the O.K, Corral, in Tombstone Arizona, the site of the infamous gunfight in which Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday, Virgil and Morgan Earp, fought the Clantons and McLaurys in October 1881.

F1030013

Here is general George Custer’s tombstone at the Little Bighorn battlefield in Wyoming, which is supposed to mark the place where he fell during the 1876 battle against the combined forces of the Lakota, Northern Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes. This has been named ‘Custer’s Last Stand’.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

On our journey from La Paz to Machu Picchu, we stayed overnight at this hotel in Huatajata on the bank of Lake Titicaca. As you can see, it boasts the highest elevator in the world, at 12,550 feet.

DSCF0409

On our fabulously scenic ten-hour ride from Puno to Cusco, Peru’s most beautiful city, we stopped off at the highest point of our trip, La Region Puno Les Desea pass at an altitude of 14,200 feet. There was a woman there, doing a roaring trade in thick jerseys and hats made of Alpaca wool. I was feeling rather cold at such a high altitude, so bought a jersey, but drew the line at wearing a woolly hat with pom-poms dangling under my chin. Vanity before warmth, I always say. 🙂

DSCF0540

Back to more normal altitudes; outside Bangkok there are salt flats, and we saw this lady selling bags of salt. I have no idea how much they were, as I don’t read Siamese.

DSCF3176

Here on Phi Phi Island, hubby wanted my pic taken with the laundry sign, as he often jokes about my concern that we should always have clean and ironed clothes on our travels, however difficult that may prove to be.

DSCF3082

Here in Kuta Beach Bali, we found this sign really funny, and thought it should rather have read, ‘Bogus Watch’, as they were all fake replicas of the really expensive famous makes.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, here are many signs down the street in the Beiyuanmen Muslim Market in X’ian. This pic was taken in 1999, before it became a tourist attraction well known for its food stalls and souvenir shops. Of course the signs are all in Chinese, so I really have no clue what they say. 😕

IMG_0158

I have still more signs, just in case we get another challenge, so bring it on. 😀

To see more bloggers signs, just click here.

74 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says

  1. I also think the other sign on the fake watch place should more honestly read “mocks” rather than “mooks” LOL
    Need a mock watch?

  2. Love the world tour via signs! I’m always blown away by the Luxor in Vegas, but I wonder what it would be like to have a room at the top of the pyramid! 😉

  3. I had to laugh at the “Bagus watches” sign image….what makes it even more funny to me is the sign just behind that, that says “Mooks”….A “Mook” in Italian can mean, undesirable, stupid…so the two people standing almost under the sign looking in the window at the “bogus” watches could possibly be actual “Mooks”. It’s almost as if the sign is mocking them for considering buying a “Bagus” watch.

  4. Hi AD, when I visited that Chinese street market in 1999 there were no souvenir shops and no tourists, how things must have changed 😦

  5. Love the signs and I’m surprised you have so many and still have some left. I need to shoot more signs.

  6. You are really prepared for any kind of sign challenge, Sylvia. I love Custer’s tombstone and the Thai writing on the salt stand. And Laundry Service: Priceless. 🙂

  7. Every time I visit your blog, I am reminded of “The Geographical Fugue” by Ernst Toch, who was a prominent composer in 1920’s Berlin. He singlehandedly invented the idiom of the “Spoken Chorus.” I love stopping by!!! To me, I hear music…

    “Trinidad!
    And the big Mississippi
    and the town Honolulu
    and the lake Titicaca….”

  8. Fantastic post ! Especially the photos and text of OK Corral and the tombstone of General Custer … I´m a history nerd 🙂 // Maria

  9. That guy looking so intently in the window @ Bagus Watch sure isn’t going to be diddled is he AD 🙂

    • No, I’m sure you wouldn’t like Vegas, Gilly. I still need to go back there one day though to take more photos. One night wasn’t long enough, especially as we were exhausted from our long drive.

  10. We took a pic in Spain of a road named after SA President F.W. de Klerk, it was in a suburban area and we were quite taken aback to see it!

  11. Not that I’m insinuating any hearing problem, but I knew you’d be well up on sign language! {I also don’t mean the kind one uses to bad motorists.}

  12. I love how Las Vegas can fake anything in the world… my fave is the Venetian. So cool to see the gondolas and the painted sky inside. *Sigh*

    • Yes, you can find so many wonderful copies in Vegas. I would love to visit again and go to The Venetian. It wasn’t built when we were there.

Comments are closed.